DeWitt County Courthouse
Cuero, Texas
 Completed - 1897
Architect - A. O. Watson & Eugene T. Heiner
Photos: Robert Deering 6/26/2015


COUNTY NAMED FOR: Empresario Green DeWitt

COUNTY SEATS: Three - Cameron, Clinton, and Cuero.

COUNTY SEAT NAMED FOR: Cuero Creek, which the Spanish had called Arroyo del Cuero, or Creek of the Rawhide, in reference to the Indians' practice of killing wild cattle that got stuck in the mud of the creekbed.

COURTHOUSES: Three - 1847, 1858, and 1897

STANDING: One -1897 Romanesque Revival courthouse built of sandstone.

RENOVATION: Complete - Rededication October 27, 2007


1897 Courthouse
Photo: Texas DoT 1939