Denton County Courthouse
Denton, Texas
 Completed - 1998
Architect -
Phillips Swager Associates

Photos: Robert Deering 6/20/2014


COUNTY NAMED FOR: It was named for John Bunyan Denton, an eastern Fannin County Methodist preacher, lawyer, and Indian fighter.

COUNTY SEATS: Three - Pinckneyville, Alton, and Denton.

COUNTY SEAT NAMED FOR: Same as the county

COURTHOUSES: Five- 1851, 1858, 1877, 1896, and 1998


  • 1896 eclectic style courthouse. The stone structure mixes Second Empire elements with Romanesque Revival, and has eighty pink granite pillars.
  • Also standing is the 1998 Modern structure a few blocks away from the 1896 building.


  • 1896 Courthouse - 110 W. Hickory Street, Denton, Texas
  • 1998 Courthouse - 1450 E. McKinney Street, Denton, Texas

1896 Courthouse



Denton County Courthouse
Denton, Texas

 Completed - 1896
Architect - W. C. Dodson

Photos: Robert Deering 6/20/2014

RENOVATION: Complete - Rededication November 6, 2004


Photo: Texas DoT 1939
Photo: Robert Deering 1973


Denton, Texas
Photos: Robert Deering 6/20/2014

Downtown Denton
City Hall West
City Hall East
First United Methodist Church
University of North Texas
Denton County Rail Service
Texas Women's University
Downtown Denton