Stephens County Courthouse
Breckenridge, Texas
 Completed - 1926
Architect - David S. Castle
Photos: Robert Deering 1/25/2004


COUNTY NAMED FOR: Alexander H. Stephens, the vice president of the Confederate States of America.

COUNTY SEATS: One - Breckenridge

COUNTY SEAT NAMED FOR: John C. Breckinridge, United States senator from Kentucky and vice president, although the spelling of the name was altered.

COURTHOUSES: Three - 1876, 1883, 1926.

STANDING:  One - 1926 Classical Revival limestone courthouse. The doorway of the 1883 courthouse also survives on the courthouse grounds.


1883 Courthouse

1926 Courthouse
Photo: Texas DoT 1939
1926 Courthouse
Photo: Robert Deering 1974

Courthouse Square
Photo: 11/5/2016


Breckenridge, Texas
Photos: Robert Deering 1/25/2004

1934 Post Office in Breckenridge
First Baptist Church of Breckenridge