Marion County Courthouse
Jefferson, Texas
 Completed - 1912
Architect - Elmer George Withers
Photos: Robert Deering 6/18/2014


COUNTY NAMED FOR: American Revolutionary War hero Francis Marion, the "Swamp Fox."

COUNTY SEATS: One - Jefferson.

COUNTY SEAT NAMED FOR: President Thomas Jefferson.

COURTHOUSES: Two - 1874 and 1912. The 1874 courthouse was used as a public school sometime after the newer building was completed, but it burned in 1937.

STANDING: One -1912 Texas Renaissance courthouse built of brick.

LOCATION: 102 E Austin St, Jefferson, TX 75657

NOTE: This building is similar to the Roberts County Courthouse in Miami also by Elmer George Withers.




Jefferson, Texas
Photos: Robert Deering

Carnegie Library

Emaculate Conception Church

1890 Post Office and Courthouse
Jefferson Playhouse 
Sterne Family Memorial 

Christ Episcopal Church
Memorial Park

First Baptist Church

First United Methodist Church

Jay Gould Rail Car   

Post Office

Cumberland Presbyterian Church
Houses in Jefferson