King County Courthouse
Guthrie, Texas
 
 
     
 
 Completed - 1982
Architect -  T. Renfro
Photos: Robert Deering 7/18/2001
 

COUNTY ORGANIZED: 1891

COUNTY NAMED FOR: William Philip King, who died at the Alamo.

COUNTY SEATS: One - Guthrie.

COUNTY SEAT NAMED FOR: W. H. Guthrie of Kentucky, one of the leading stockholders in the Louisville Land and Cattle Company, which acquired land around the Guthrie site in 1883.

COURTHOUSES: Three - 1891, 1905, 1914, and 1982.

STANDING: Two -

  • 1914 Texas Renaissance courthouse built of concrete and steel. It is now a museum and library.
  • 1982 courthouse is a Modern brick structure. 
 
 
 
1905 Courthouse
Photo: ca1913
 
 
1914 Courthouse
 
 
 
Quote from Historical Marker: "Created in 1876, King County organized in 1891. Its first courthouse, a two-story frame structure, was destroyed in 1905 by a tornado. The next house of justice, built of sandstone, burned in 1914. That same year, the county hired Fort Worth architect Ernest E. Churchill to design a new courts building. The two-story concrete structure served as the courthouse until 1982, when the county converted it to a library and built a new courthouse. The Classical Revival edifice exhibits prairie-style influences. Today, it remains a testament to the aspirations of early 20th-century King County residents." 

         

 

King County Courthouse
Guthrie, Texas

 
 Completed - 1914
Architect -  Ernest E. Churchhill
Photos: Robert Deering 6/27/2010

         


1914 Courthouse
Photo: Texas DoT 1939
 

1914 Courthouse Before Restoration
Photo: Robert Deering 7/18/2001
 

 

Guthrie, Texas
Photo: Robert Deering 6/27/2010

 
First Baptist Church of Guthrie