Hidalgo County Courthouse
Edinburg, Texas
 Completed - 1954
Architect -
Photos: Robert Deering 9/3/2005


COUNTY NAMED FOR: Miguel Hidalgo y Costilla, leader of the independence movement in Mexico.

COUNTY SEATS: Two - Edinburg (name changed to Hildago) and Chapin (name changed to Edinburg). Hildago was known variously as La Habitación, as Rancho San Luis, and as San Luisito. In 1852 John Young, a native Scotsman, settled in the area and renamed the town Edinburgh. It became the county seat. A post office was established there in 1876, and in 1885 the office name was changed to Hidalgo. In 1908 the county seat was moved to Chapin, which was then renamed Edinburg.

COUNTY SEAT NAMED FOR: Edinburg, Scotland

COURTHOUSES: Three - 1886 in Hidalgo; 1908 and 1954 in Edinburg.


  • 1886 Neoclassical brick courthouse in Hidalgo.  This building was originally a two story structure, but its cupola roof and second floor were destroyed by a fire in the early 20th century.  It was reconfigured into a one story building. 
  • 1954 Modern style courthouse built of stone and marble in Edinburg.

ADDRESS:  100 E Cano, Edinberg, Texas


1886 Courthouse in Hidalgo
Original Configuration
1886 Courthouse in Hidalgo
Photo: Robert Deering 9/3/2005

1908 Courthouse in Edinburg
Photo: Texas DoT 1939

1954 Courthouse in Edinburg
Photo: Robert Deering 1974


Hidalgo County Courthouse
Hildalgo Texas

 Completed - 1886
Architect - S. W. Brooks
Photos: Robert Deering 9/3/2005

ADDRESS:  50 East Flora, Hidalgo Texas


Old Hildalgo County Jail in  Hildalgo
Completed -
Architect - S. W. Brooks