Franklin County Courthouse
Mount Vernon, Texas
 Completed - 1912
Architect - L. L. Thurman
Photos: Robert Deering 8/30/2001


COUNTY NAMED FOR: Benjamin Cromwell Franklin, the first Judge of the Republic of Texas.

COUNTY SEATS: One - Mount Vernon.

COUNTY SEAT NAMED FOR: Originally named Lone Star, the town was renamed Mount Vernon in honor of George Washington`s home.

COURTHOUSES: Two - 1875 and 1912.

STANDING: One -1912 Classical Revival courthouse.

RENOVATION: Complete - Rededication September 20, 2014


1912 Courthouse
Photo: Texas DoT 1939

Franklin County Jail