Dallam County Courthouse
Dalhart, Texas
 Completed - 1922
Architect - Smith & Townes
Photos: Robert Deering 4/3/2005


COUNTY NAMED FOR: James W. Dallam, Republic of Texas lawyer and newspaper editor.

COUNTY SEATS: Two - Texline and Dalhart.

COUNTY SEAT NAMED FOR: The town is named Dalhart because it is in both Dallam and Hartley counties.

COURTHOUSES: Three - Texline 1876; Dalhart 1903, 1922

STANDING: One - 1922 Classical Revival courthouse built of brick.

NOTE: This building is very similar to the Freestone County Courthouse in Fairfield byW.R. Kaufman and the Lynn County Courthouse in Tahoka by W. C. Rice.