El Paso County Courthouse
El Paso, Texas
 Completed - 1991
Architect - Garland & Hill / Fischer Cordova Partners
Photos: Robert Deering 9/1/2005



COUNTY NAMED FOR: The Spanish name El Paso del Norte denotes a historically important geographical point, the channel cut by the Rio Grande through the mountains to form a natural passageway for travelers to the north or south, east or west.

COUNTY SEATS: Three - San Elizario, Ysleta, and El Paso, Texas.

COUNTY SEAT NAMED FOR: Same as the county

COURTHOUSES: Six - San Elizario 1866; Ysleta 1871; El Paso 1886, 1917, 1980, 1991


  • The 1917 Classical Revival courthouse, which was substantially remodeled in the 1950s
  • The 1980 Modern courthouse built of steel and concrete
  • The 1991 high-rise building covered in reflective glass

ADDRESS:  500 E San Antonio Ave., El Paso, Texas

1886 Courthouse
1917 Courthouse
1917 Courthouse
Photo: Texas DoT 1939


El Paso, Texas
Photo: Robert Deering 9/1/2005

1917 Post Office in El Paso