Bexar County Courthouse
San Antonio, Texas
 Completed - 1988
Architects -  Ford, Powell, & Carson Inc.; Joneskell Architects, Inc.; Saldana & Associates
Photos: Robert Deering 9/15/2003


COUNTY NAMED FOR: The name Bexar was commonly applied to the presidio of San Antonio de Béxar and the villa of San Fernando de Béxar, which developed into the present city of San Antonio, as well as to the municipality from which modern Bexar County evolved.

COUNTY SEATS: One - San Antonio

COUNTY SEAT NAMED FOR:  The town grew out of San Antonio de Béxar Presidio, founded 1718, and the villa of San Fernando de Béxar, chartered by Canary Islanders in 1731.

COURTHOUSES: Five -1837, 1850, 1882, 1892, and 1988.


  • 1892 Romanesque Revival building made of red granite, with a unique beehive tower. There have been numerous additions dating from 1928.
  • Also standing is the 1988 brick courthouse. 
1882 Courthouse

1892 Courthouse


Bexar County Courthouse
Name, Texas

  Completed - 1892
Architect -  J. Riely Gordon
Photos: Robert Deering 9/15/2003


1892 Courthouse
Photo: Texas DoT 1939
1892 Courthouse
Robert Deering 1974


San Antonio, Texas
Photos: Robert Deering

1889 San Antonio Citty Hall
First Baptist Church of San Antonio