Crowley County Courthouse
Winfield, Kansas
 Completed - 1963
Architect - Caton, Yadon, & Potter
Photos: Robert Deering 10/12/2012
1873 Courthouse

1909 Courthouse
1963 Courthouse

COUNTY ORGANIZED: Cowley County was officially organized as a county, but reserved for the Osage Indians, by the Kansas Legislature in March 1867, and it was officially opened for settlement July 15, 1870.

Originally named Hunter County for Robert Mercer Taliaferro Hunter (1809–1887), a Virginia Representative and Senator to Congress and Speaker of the House in the twenty-sixth Congress. In 1870, the county was renamed for Matthew Cowley, First Lieutenant in Company I, 9th Kansas Cavalry, who died at Little Rock, Arkansas, on October 7, 1864.

COUNTY SEATS:  There was a lengthy and bitter disagreement between the towns of Winfield and Cresswell (now named Arkansas City) over the possession of the county seat of government. Finally settled after two special elections and numerous petitions to the Governor and Legislature, Winfield was determined to be the county seat and a courthouse was constructed in 1873 at a cost of $11,500.


COURTHOUSES: 1873, 1909, and 1963

 1963 Modern stucture. 


Winfield, Kansas
Photo: Robert Deering 10/12/2012

First Baptist Church of Winfield

First Presbeterian Church of Winfield